Communication

file000429206031

Communication: noun

  1. the act or process of communicating; fact of being communicated.

2.  the imparting or interchange of thoughts, opinions, or information by speech, writing, or signs.

  1. something imparted, interchanged, or transmitted.
  2. a document or message imparting news, views, information, etc.

 

The imparting or interchange of thought, opinions, or information by speech, writing or signs.

Communication is a two way act.  I can stand in the middle of my living room and talk all day, but it won’t do me a bit of good if I had no one to hear me. Or if I am so engrossed in something and my grandchild is trying to tell me somethin, I may be within hearing distance but my mind isn’t engaging on the communication.

Two other terms that need to be understood here are:

Monologue (monolog) – a prolonged talk or discourse by a single speaker, especially one dominating or monopolizing a conversation.

Dialog – 1. conversation between two or more persons.

  1. the conversation between characters in a novel, drama, etc.

A good example of a “monologue” is Luke 18:11  “The Pharisee stood and prayed thus with himself, God, I thank thee, that I am not as other men are, extortioners, unjust, adulterers or even as this publican.”  (emphasis mine)
That Pharisee wasn’t really praying to God, he was extolling his own virtues.  He was also criticizing the other man.  And Jesus said that the praise he heaped on himself was his only reward.
But the publican, in verse 13, said, “And the publican, standing afar off, would not lift up so much as his eyes unto heaven, but smote upon his breast, saying, God be merciful to me a sinner.”  Now, that is a real prayer!

Prayer is meant to be a dialog.  We may come to God with requests and gratitude, but then we must listen to His answers.  His answers may come in and audible voice (but don’t expect that), it may come through a Bible teacher or a friend, or from reading the Bible.  God always answers!  We may not see the answer because it isn’t the answer we want. Example: a teenage girl wants the captain of the football team to ask her to the homecoming dance.  He ends up asking the popular cheerleader and the girl  ends up accepting an invitation from the computer geek.  The night of the big dance, the girl sees her dream date being drunk and disorderly in the parking lot. Did God answer her prayer?  Yes, but not the way she wanted.  But it was the best way.
Another way that that the dialog can go astray is when God tells us to do  something and we don’t follow through. A good example of this is when I was 12 years old and I felt the Lord telling me I was to become a missionary.  I turned and ran away from the church, God and everything good.  Yes, I did eventually became a missionary, but not when God first told me.  A dialog has to have both sides active or it isn’t a dialog.

In Luke 11, the disciples ask Jesus to teach them how to pray.  And He does teach them what we now call the Lord’s Prayer.  It starts with praise, requests, confession of sins, and then request for delivery from temptation, which is the dialog part.  We need to be listening to hear the delivery.

In our busy everyday world, it is sometimes hard to find time to really listen to what God has to say to us. I find that having a set appointment time helps.  I also find that mornings are the best time for my appointment.  If I wait, the day just gets in the way and I can’t seem to find the time later.  Most of the time, if I don’t set the appointment, I find myself having a monologue instead of a dialog.  A dialog is much sweeter.

And we are to come to Father God like a little child.  Draw on the wonderful name of Jesus. And then follow the Holy Spirit’s leading in our life.

 

Leave a comment